Fitness Friday!

12 Apr

Happy Friday!! This week Tina’s Bootcamp had us doing a new-to-me type of strength training called drop sets. Basically, you do 6-8 reps of an exercise using a heavier weight than normal, then switch to a lighter weight and do as many reps as you can at that weight. It’s fun and I really like lifting the heavier weights for the reps at the beginning! I’m really enjoying the workouts she has put together for us and I’m sad there are only two weeks of workouts left :(

In addition to Tina’s Bootcamp workouts, I have also been trying to run at least 3 days a week to continue to build a solid running base. This week my ‘long’ run was 6 miles! I felt pretty awesome during the run and I really surprised myself with keeping an average pace of 9:45 (<– fast for me for that distance!) After the run, I had some pain in the bottom, outside of my left foot but the pain seems to have subsided a bit today so I’m hoping a few days off and I’ll be good as new!

adventurous april

Finally, this week I participated in Janetha’s Adventurous April and got up extra early to complete my workout! I usually work out later in the morning because I’m afraid if I work out first thing I’ll just be too tired or won’t have the energy or I’ll be exhausted for the rest of the day afterwards. Well, that is not true! This week I finished my run + strength + stretching before 9am, which is pretty early for me because I usually prefer working out right before lunch. Not the biggest adventure ever- but it was definitely stepping outside of my comfort zone.

Enjoy your weekend :D

How do you encourage yourself to step outside of your comfort zone and try something new? I’m pretty bad at this, even though I usually enjoy the results when I actually do it. :)

6 Responses to “Fitness Friday!”

  1. Catalina @ Cake with Love April 14, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    I just tell myself that I will take it really easy, and I will give it one time try if I don’t like it I am free to do something else!

  2. Bailee Morris April 19, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    My biggest problem isn’t necessarily trying something new, but rather pushing myself to finish something tough. For instance, if I tell myself I’m going to run 3 miles, as soon as I get close to that, I want to start slacking off. I’ve learned now to tell myself to run 3 miles, but just keep going after I reach that goal. It’s worked wonders and I sometimes stretch myself to 4.5!

  3. Tessa at Amazing Asset April 20, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    To push myself out of my comfort zone… I guess I kind of just do it! For me it’s been about challenging my ED thoughts (nice and comfy) and I just take the plunge with those and dive right in!

  4. eatingforexcellence April 23, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    Ah I want to try some new workouts! Have a great week :)

  5. Sarah April 23, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Stepping outside of my comfort zone can be hard.. but I usually feel good about it afterwards! Congrats on your 6 miler lady – so awesome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. week 2: adventurous april roundup! - meals & moves | meals & moves - April 16, 2012

    [...] Maggie says: For this week’s adventure I stepped outside of my comfort zone and had my entire workout completed before 9am! Now, I know this probably seems like NO big deal to most people, but for me this is a pretty big deal. I’ve always thought I would have no energy for my workout or I’d be too tired all day if I worked out first thing in the morning but this week I decided to just get it done and I loved it! It felt amazing being done with my workout and still having the entire day ahead of me, and I really didn’t feel any more tired than usual. Success! I blogged about it here: http://runningonfroyo.wordpress.com/2012/04/12/fitness-friday-2/ [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

