WIAW & Giving Up Negative Self-Talk

22 Feb

First things first- Happy WIAW! Head on over to Peas & Crayons to check out everyone’s eats for this week!

My lunches and dinners have been pretty boring so this week..and I kept forgetting to take pictures…so  I’m just going to show you a few AWESOME breakfast ideas I’ve been trying lately!

Tina’s Oatmeal Without the Oats!

Gina’s Pumpkin Protein Pancakes!

My new favorite oatmeal combo- 2 egg whites + chia + frozen blueberries..and lots of cinnamon! The egg whites and chia make the oats soo voluminous! Amazing.

Now for a more serious topic..

I’m not going to lie. I like to tell myself that I’ve given up calorie counting, that I’m done being a slave to the scale, that numbers don’t define me- but sometimes they still do. I still find myself counting calories in my head nearly every day for almost every meal. I have been trying to put an end to this, but it is HARD! Hard to give up the control and security of knowing exactly what I’ve put into my body each day. I got rid of my scale at home a long time ago but I still occasionally weigh myself at the gym and allow that number to set my mood for the day, or at least a few hours. If I have an unplanned rest day I feel like I should restrict my calories all day almost as a punishment to myself for skipping a workout. I often find myself complaining of looking fat after a particularly indulgent meal.

This has all been on my mind for a while now and last night, I was thinking about what to give up for Lent and it hit me..I want to say goodbye to this negative self-talk and these unrealistic expectations once and for all! I’m tired of constantly expecting perfection from myself. It’s emotionally and physically draining spending so much of my time each day focusing on things that don’t matter in the long run. My friends, family, boyfriend, and most importantly, God, love me whether I’ve worked out 1 time or 7 times in a week, whether I had a salad or cheeseburger for dinner, SO WHY SHOULDN’T I??!

I am certainly not trying to push my religious views on anyone by ANY means, but for me personally, another issue I have with this negative self-talk is that I feel like I’m trying to “fix” God’s work. I am fearfully and wonderfully made in God’s image, just as he wants me to be, and trying to restrict calories and constantly talking myself is talking down His amazing work. So, here goes 40 days of a whole lot of self-lovin!

Do you ever find yourself in the negative self-talk trap? How do you deal? Any tips will be appreciated! :D

10 Responses to “WIAW & Giving Up Negative Self-Talk”

  1. Faith @ For the Health of It February 22, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    My friends, family, boyfriend, and most importantly, God, love me whether I’ve worked out 1 time or 7 times in a week, whether I had a salad or cheeseburger for dinner, SO WHY SHOULDN’T I??!….I love that mentality.

    I had the realization a while ago that if I wouldn’t tolerate a boyfriend telling me I look fat today, than why should I tolerate it from myself? We are so hard on ourselves without really realizing how demeaning it is!

    • Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo February 22, 2012 at 10:14 am #

      That’s a such a good point. If I wouldn’t tolerate it from someone else, I definitely should NOT be doing it to myself!

  2. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries February 22, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    good for YOU girl! just like you said, you are fearfully and wonderfully made, and God loves you no matter what the number on the scale says or the size on your pants. i continually have to remind myself of this as well. can’t wait to try out those pancakes!

    • Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo February 22, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

      Thanks for your sweet words! You’ll have to let me know how you like the pancakes. Oh, and I used Greek yogurt instead of the cottage cheese the recipe calls for!

  3. Sweetly Fit February 22, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    Hey girl! Here is the link to the salsa burgers I made: http://www.onefitfoodie.com/2011/09/rep-ranges-and-salsa-burgers.html

    It is so simple and seriously rocks!! So flavorful. :D

    I’m loving your eats! I tried Tina’s oatmeal minus the oats and am a big fan! Negative happens to the best of us every now and then but when it sneaks up on me, I try to just take a deep breath and make a conscious effort to replace that thought with a positive one. Actually stopping yourself in the process and saying NO i’m not allowing this, makes a big difference for me!

    • Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo February 23, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      Thanks for the recipe, I can’t wait to try them- they look so easy too!

      I definitely agree that actually saying to yourself, NO I’m not going to do this is much more effective than just thinking over and over in your head ohhh I should stop..haha good tip! :)

  4. fitnessnfoodiegirl February 22, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    This is great! I’m actually doing the same exact thing for Lent! I’m focusing more on God and who he says I am and less on the negative stuff I let myself believe. It’s time we see ourselves for who God made us to be. We are beautiful in His eyes and that is all that matters!
    Today after making that decision has me feeling so very free and I hope you feel the same! I’ll be praying for you and hope that your negative self talk comes to an end!

    • Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo February 23, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      Ahhh that’s great that we’re doing pretty much the same thing, we’ll have to keep each other updated and what not! And yes, just really thinking about the fact that God has unconditional love for us no matter what makes it seem so silly to even worry about a lot of things!

  5. eatingforexcellence February 23, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Wow go you! I think it is so great that you’re challenging yourself. Negative self-talk can be really tough and it is something that I have struggled with too. I used to be an OBSESSIVE calorie counter, and as hard as it is, it feels soooo good to not always be playing with numbers in my head. Sometimes I can’t help it and quickly tally my breakfast or lunch in my head (trying to stop doing this!) but I’ve gotten so much better and it is SUCH a relief! You can do it :)

    • Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo February 23, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

      Same here- calorie counting can TAKE OVER your life if you let it, and I definitely did for a while..it’s crazy to think that it’s so difficult to just not count the numbers haha, but I’m definitely getting much better these days!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

